The 'Article security' function allows locking out users of the current article content, or preventing users from changing the current article.
Through the 'lock icon' on the left-bottom or menu⁄tools⁄security⁄article one can open the article security screen (screen shot):
Explanation of the options:
'Write⁄read access', or 'full access' allows a user to change the content of the article
'Read-only access' enables the user to read the content of the article, but not to change it
'Deny access' will prevent the user from accessing the article. Instead 'access denied' will be shown in the article.
'Default access' currently has the same effect as write⁄read access, but this might change in the future.
Note: if no user-rights have been set for an article⁄user combination, the access-right for that article⁄user is 'default', which in the current version is the same as 'write⁄read access'.
After pressing 'next', the following screen appears:
This screen presents a choice of applying the settings specified in step 1 to the current article only, or to all articles in the current subtree.
Only if you select the last option 'Specified user rights are applied to ALL articles and SOME users in subtree', a consecutive screen will appear in which you can select⁄unselect users. Only for 'checked users the settings from step 1 will be applied to the current article and all other articles in the current subtree. See screenshot below.