When are article edits stored?
Article edits are stored after the user indicated that editing finishes.
Article changes are not stored instantly: you have control over when edits are saved into the database.
When you make a change in the current article, the article ruler will display a red border, please see below. Additionally, the statusbar will display the text 'Article not saved'.
For the multi-user edition: whenever an article is being edited, other users can not edit that specific article, it is being locked by the TreePad database server, but they can still access the previous version of this article in readonly mode.
Methods of storing the article
Once you have finished editing the article, you can store it immediately,
(1) by clicking menu⁄database⁄save current article,
(2) by clicking on the 'save current article' icon (the second icon from the left on the file toolbar).
(3) by clicking on the 'save article' button, which is only visible when the article is being edited, and the mouse is hovering over the lower right part of the article (see screenshot below).
(4) by typing ctrl S
(5) by clicking on the tree with the mouse,
(6) by selecting a different node.
(7) through auto-save. TreePad can automatically save article edits every few minutes. You can adjust or disable auto-save in the options screen (Menu: View⁄Options, category: Autosave)
After having saved the current article, you will see that the article ruler displays a normal border color again indicating that changes are now stored in the TreePad X database.
For the multi-user edition only: after you have stored the changes, the new version of the article can be viewed by the other users as well. Other users can immediately see the new version of the article, by selecting that node⁄article in the tree (if it was not selected before). Alternatively, if the node⁄article was already selected, changes in the selected article can be seen instantly by performing menu⁄view⁄refresh article or F5 when the article is active (has focus).