Automatic Paste hints and tips
When you turn on Automatic Paste, you are given a chance to save the current contents of the Windows Clipboard, since each time an automatic paste takes place, the Windows Clipboard is cleared immediately afterwards. If you reply "Yes" when TreePad asks you if you want to clear the Windows Clipboard, you will lose any clip you have currently saved. If you reply No, the contents will be pasted into the current article at the position of the mouse cursor, or when the tree has focus, a new child node of the currently selected node will be created.
If you wish to undo an automatic article paste, press Ctrl+Z or click the Undo icon. Warning - not just one but several snippets of text may disappear! However, you can recover them by pressing Ctrl+Y or clicking the Redo icon.
Since automatic paste empties the Windows Clipboard after each paste, normal functions such as Copy and Cut would cause loss of data, so attempting them will display an error message while automatic paste is on. You will need to disable automatic paste before you can edit the pasted text.
If you have more than one copy of TreePad running, you can even enable automatic paste in one of them and copy text from the other. This is useful for condensing information from another file.
A sudden inability to paste text in your text editor is a sure sign that you have forgotten to turn off automatic paste in TreePad which is quietly running in the background! Look there for any text you think you may have lost.
Turn off any other Windows Clipboard manager programs you normally use before enabling automatic paste to prevent program conflicts.
If you need a customized separator beyond the two blank lines used by TreePad, open a small text editor window containing a separator you have created and automatically paste it in when appropriate.
In the interests of safety, the automatic paste function is switched off:
- when you open a new file
- when you create a new file
- when you close the current file
- when you close TreePad.
So, for example, if you have closed and need to reopen TreePad in the course of an Automatic Paste session, you MUST remember to re-enable Automatic Paste, otherwise you could find yourself highlighting and copying text while in another program, assuming it is being pasted into TreePad, when in fact nothing is happening!
For this reason, be very careful when you use automatic paste to move text between windows rather than just to copy it. Once you have Cut it from your source text to the Windows Clipboard, carrying out a second Cut on the assumption that the first has automatically been pasted will overwrite the first block. If automatic paste is disabled, the first block will be deleted for ever.
To eliminate all worries about whether or not the text you cut or copy is automatically pasted, make both source and destination windows are visible by reducing the size of the source window to less than full-screen. Another good idea is to press F12 to eliminate the Tree pane when you are pasting everything into the same article, and this will give you more screen space.
Automatic Paste is disabled when a TreePad file is being saved, manually or by Autosave.