Manual saving
 
Since the state of your current file is stored only in memory, saving it overwrites the version of the same name which was written to your hard disk the last time you saved this file.
 
To save your current file manually:
 
This is quick and easy. The only disadvantage is that you lose the earlier version as soon as you save the current one (you might want to review an earlier version).  Furthermore, if you accidentally delete some data and then save without thinking, that data is gone.
 
If you have accidentally deleted data in an article, you can undo this - even if you saved your changes immediately afterwards - by clicking the Undo icon or pressing Ctrl+Z. Whew!
 
If you accidentally deleted a node or a subtree, you can still recover it as long as you have not saved the current version by following directions in Deleting a node.
 
Also remember that if you cut a node or a subtree and save immediately afterwards, you have not lost it permanently - it is stored in the TreePad Clipboard, waiting to be pasted back in. Simply click Main menu ⁄ Tree ⁄ Paste ⁄ Node⁄Subtree to get it back.
 
Note that TreePad only saves a file if it detects that it has been changed since it was opened. The Status bar will display "Changes not saved" until the file is saved or closed. The Changing focus to another node or adding⁄deleting a character in the Article pane qualify as changes. You can tell whether a file is saved by the brief appearance of a popup Saving file "barometer" window showing the progress of this function, which will be more evident when saving a large file. If nothing has changed since the last save, nothing will happen when you press Ctrl+S, and the Main menu ⁄ File ⁄ Save function will be unavailable. This also applies to Safety copy (see below), but not to Save As or numbered backups.
 
Note: During manual saving and Autosave:
Search ]     [ Previous  |  Next ]     [ Up  |  First  |  Last ]     (Article 416 of 563)

This page is created with TreePad