As mentioned earlier, once you have Cut⁄Copied a node⁄subtree, the data is immediately and securely pasted into TreePad's clipboard files on your hard drive, not simply left in memory. So if your computer or Windows crashes after you've cut a node out but before you've pasted it in, your precious data is not lost but saved in the TreePad Clipboard. To recover it, simply re-start Windows , reopen your target file in TreePad, and click Main menu ⁄ Tree ⁄ Paste ⁄ Node⁄Subtree.
The only difference between Copying and Cutting is that when you Cut a node or subtree, that node or subtree is deleted from the current file. However, it has not been deleted from your computer; as we have seen, it has merely been transferred to the TreePad clipboard, so can be pasted back into its original location and⁄or anywhere else.
As with any clipboard, it is possible to overwrite data you have stored on the TreePad clipboard. For instance, when you cut a node or subtree, it is wise to paste the node⁄subtree before you copy or cut any other tree (in any TreePad program), since any second copy⁄cut action will overwrite the first, and the clipboard is shared between different TreePad instances running.
Please note that the TreePad clipboard is a file inside the Windows temp directory, so do not use TreePad clipboard for long-time storage, since the temp directory can be periodically cleaned up by other programs.